Market leading insight for tax experts
View online issue

EU removes UAE and Marshall Islands from tax havens blacklist

printer Mail

ECOFIN has removed the United Arab Emirates from the EU list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions and Marshall Islands has moved to the lower-risk annex II. Albania, Costa Rica, Serbia, Switzerland and Mauritius have been removed from annex II.

The UAE and the Marshall Islands have both passed the necessary reforms to implement commitments made to introduce economic substance requirements by the end of 2018. Albania, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Serbia and Switzerland were considered to have implemented all necessary reforms to comply with EU tax good governance principles.

This leaves nine jurisdictions on the annex I blacklist: American Samoa, Belize, Fiji, Guam, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, the US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu. See

Issue: 1461
Categories: News