Market leading insight for tax experts
View online issue

The Cayman Islands and the EU ‘blacklist’

Speed read
On 18 February, the EU Council confirmed that the Cayman Islands had been added to the EU’s official list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, commonly referred to as the ‘EU blacklist’. This is a significant development, but, except in limited circumstances, in the short term it is not expected to give rise to any immediate adverse tax consequences. Any longer-term impact will depend both on (i) whether this turns out to be a temporary or more permanent status and (ii) investor perceptions, particularly for EU based investors.

If you or your firm subscribes to, please click the login box below:

If you do not subscribe but are a registered user, please enter your details in the following boxes:

Alternatively, you can register free of charge to read a limited amount of subscriber content per month.
Once you have registered, you will receive an email directing you back to read this article in full.
Please reach out to customer services at +44 (0) 330 161 1234 or '' for further assistance.