Market leading insight for tax experts
View online issue

Social Security

Punam Birly Director and Steve Mayled Senior Manager of KPMG's International Social Security Practice consider the key features of the EU social security rules which the new Member States will have to navigate
On 1 May 2004 the ten new Member States who joined the European Union (EU): Cyprus Czech Republic Estonia Hungary Latvia Lithuania Malta Poland Slovakia and Slovenia immediately became subject to the EU provisions on social security. These provisions have the free movement of persons equality of treatment and benefit protection as their overriding purpose and are designed to co-ordinate the social security regimes of all 29 countries (includes EEA and Switzerland). In most of these countries the state benefit funds are under increasing pressure as a result...

If you or your firm subscribes to, please click the login box below:

If you do not subscribe but are a registered user, please enter your details in the following boxes:

Alternatively, you can register free of charge to read a limited amount of subscriber content per month.
Once you have registered, you will receive an email directing you back to read this article in full.
Please reach out to customer services at +44 (0) 330 161 1234 or '' for further assistance.